Founding Leaders

ISPOR was founded by a small group of dedicated volunteers and visionaries in 1995 with the goal of serving as a catalyst for advancing the science and practice of health economics and outcomes research worldwide. The Society's founding Executive Director was Marilyn Dix Smith, PhD.

List of Founding Leaders

The Society’s founding leaders include:
Steven R. Arikian, MD
Renee J. Goldberg Arnold, PharmD
Alan W. Bakst, PharmD, RPh, MS, BS
Sara J. Beis, RPh, MS
Robert H. Bigelow, MS, PhD
J. Lyle Bootman, PhD
J. Jaime Caro, MD
Jonathan Cooke, MPharm, PhD
Robert M. DeMarinis, PhD
Robert S. Epstein, MD, MS
Steven F. Finder, MD, MBA, MPH
Jean Paul Gagnon, PhD
Ronald R. Gaudette, RPh, MBA
Joel W. Hay, PhD
Joseph D. Jackson, PhD
Nelda Johnson, PharmD
Sheldon X. Kong, PhD
James R. Lang, PharmD, MBA
Karl A. Matuszewski, RPh,MS
William F. McGhan, PharmD, PhD
Charlotte McMillan, PhD
Martin T. Miller, PhD
Judith A. O'Brien, RN, BSPA
Laurence Poli, MBA
Stephen P. Reinhart, MS
Michael J. Sax, Pharm.D
Stephen Schondelmeyer, PharmD, PhD
James E. Smeeding, RPh, MBA
Brian T. Smith, MSc
M. Eugene Smith, PhD
Marilyn Dix Smith, RPh, PhD
Avren Snader, PhD
Hugh Tilson, MD, PhD
Jeffery P. Trotter, MBA
James P. Wilson, RPh, MS, PharmD, PhD
Patricia Wolfangel

Founding Executive Director

Marilyn Dix Smith, RPh, PhD

Marilyn Dix Smith

Founding Executive Director, ISPOR
Marilyn Dix Smith, RPh, PhD served as founding executive director for ISPOR from 1995 to 2014. For nearly 20 years, Dr Smith was chief executive officer of the organization and was responsible for implementing the initiatives of the Society. Prior to founding ISPOR, Dr Smith was director, managed care pharmacy at Lederle Laboratories. Previously, she was director, quality control at Lederle where she was responsible for assuring product quality. Dr Smith received her BS in pharmacy and PhD in pharmaceutical science from Ohio State University. She published a number of scientific articles and has given many presentations in quality assessment techniques, healthcare legislation, and disease treatment optimization. Dr Smith was also a cofounder of the American Association for Pharmaceutical Scientists, a member of the American Society of Association Executives, and involved in many other pharmacy and healthcare professional organizations.

Your browser is out-of-date

ISPOR recommends that you update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on Update my browser now