Computer Modeling of Diabetes and Its Transparency- A Report on the Eighth Mount Hood Challenge



The Eighth Mount Hood Challenge (held in St. Gallen, Switzerland, in September 2016) evaluated the transparency of model input documentation from two published health economics studies and developed guidelines for improving transparency in the reporting of input data underlying model-based economic analyses in diabetes.


Participating modeling groups were asked to reproduce the results of two published studies using the input data described in those articles. Gaps in input data were filled with assumptions reported by the modeling groups. Goodness of fit between the results reported in the target studies and the groups’ replicated outputs was evaluated using the slope of linear regression line and the coefficient of determination (R ). After a general discussion of the results, a diabetes-specific checklist for the transparency of model input was developed.


Seven groups participated in the transparency challenge. The reporting of key model input parameters in the two studies, including the baseline characteristics of simulated patients, treatment effect and treatment intensification threshold assumptions, treatment effect evolution, prediction of complications and costs data, was inadequately transparent (and often missing altogether). Not surprisingly, goodness of fit was better for the study that reported its input data with more transparency. To improve the transparency in diabetes modeling, the Diabetes Modeling Input Checklist listing the minimal input data required for reproducibility in most diabetes modeling applications was developed.


Transparency of diabetes model inputs is important to the reproducibility and credibility of simulation results. In the Eighth Mount Hood Challenge, the Diabetes Modeling Input Checklist was developed with the goal of improving the transparency of input data reporting and reproducibility of diabetes simulation model results.


Andrew J. Palmer Lei Si Michelle Tew Xinyang Hua Michael S. Willis Christian Asseburg Phil McEwan José Leal Alastair Gray Volker Foos Mark Lamotte Talitha Feenstra Patrick J. O’Connor Michael Brandle Harry J. Smolen James C. Gahn William J. Valentine Richard F. Pollock Penny Breeze Alan Brennan Daniel Pollard Wen Ye William H. Herman Deanna J. Isaman Shihchen Kuo Neda Laiteerapong An Tran-Duy Philip M. Clarke

Your browser is out-of-date

ISPOR recommends that you update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on Update my browser now