October 12-13: Study Design with Real-World Data- Virtual
event-Short-Courses

October 12, 2022 - October 13, 2022

Back to all short courses

Study Design with Real-World Data (Virtual)


LEVEL:
Introductory
TRACK:
Health Technology Assessment
LENGTH:
4 Hours | Course runs 2 consecutive days, 2 hours each day

Register Here

Wednesday, 12 October 2022 | Course runs 2 consecutive days, 2 hours per day
10:00AM–12:00PM Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)
10:00PM-00:00AM China Standard Time (CST)
14:00PM–16:00PM Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)

Thursday, 13 October 2022 | Course runs 2 consecutive days, 2 hours per day
10:00AM–12:00PM Eastern Daylight Time (EDT)
10:00PM-00:00AM China Standard Time (CST)
14:00PM–16:00PM Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)


Click for time zone conversion


DESCRIPTION

The proliferation of real-world data (RWD) is providing researchers with a greater opportunity to study clinical outcomes in diverse approaches outside of traditional randomized clinical trials. These RWD based on observational studies can include retrospective studies (eg, clinical/hospital record/chart review, administrative data/insurance claims database studies, and electronic medical records data studies), or prospective studies (eg, registries, health surveys, prospective observational studies, or post-authorization safety studies). While RWD studies have great potential to study once-unattainable questions, they also pose their own set of challenges. This course will introduce the different types of RWD-based studies and address their fundamental design strategies as well as inherent challenges such as validity, quality of data and confounding. Presenters will also introduce study design aspects such as the research question, data sources, population, sample size, endpoints, and internal and external validity considerations.

FACULTY MEMBERS

Jeff Jianfei Guo, BPharm, PhD
Professor of Pharmacoeconomics & Pharmacoepidemiology
University of Cincinnati College of Pharmacy
Cincinnati, OH, USA

Xin Sun, PhD
Chinese Evidence-Based Medicine Center
West China Hospital, Sichuan University
Chengdu, China


Basic Schedule:
4 Hours | Course runs 2 consecutive days, 2 hours each day

Your browser is out-of-date

ISPOR recommends that you update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on ispor.org. Update my browser now

×