ISPOR Announces 2023-2024 Board of Directors

Published May 30, 2023

Brian O’Rourke, PharmD Assumes Role of President

Lawrenceville, NJ, USA—May 30, 2023—ISPOR—The Professional Society for Health Economics and Outcomes Research announced today the results of its recent elections. The Society’s membership selected its new president-elect and 3 new board members. The 2023-2024 board is assuming office on July 1 and includes the following members.

Brian O’Rourke, PharmD—President
Dr O’Rourke will assume the role of 2023-2024 president after having served as ISPOR’s president-elect over the past year. He is currently president of Brian O’Rourke Health Care Consulting, Inc in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada and previously served as the president and chief executive officer of the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) from 2009-2020.

Jan Elias Hansen, PhD —Immediate Past President
Dr Hansen moves into the role of immediate past president. She is vice president of the Evidence for Access Unit in US Medical Affairs at Genentech in South San Francisco, California, USA.

Eberechukwu Onukwugha, PhD—President-Elect
Dr Onukwugha was elected as president-elect and will move into the role of president during the 2024-2025 term. She is a professor in the Department of Practice, Sciences, and Health Outcomes Research and the executive director of Pharmaceutical Research Computing at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy in Baltimore, Maryland, USA.

Dalia Dawoud, PhD—Director
Dr Dawoud is an associate director (research) at the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) in London, England, UK.

Lucinda Orsini, DPM, MPH—Director
Dr Orsini is vice president for value and outcomes research at COMPASS Pathways in Skillman, New Jersey, USA.

Amy K. O’Sullivan, PhD—Director
Dr O’Sullivan is senior vice president and chief scientific officer at Ontada in Boston, Massachusetts, USA.

Returning board members include:

Beth Devine, PhD—Director
Dr Devine is a professor and graduate program director at the Comparative Heath Outcomes, Policy and Economics Institute, School of Pharmacy, University of Washington in Seattle, Washington, USA.

Marlene Gyldmark, MPhil—Director
Ms Gyldmark is global head of HEOR and epidemiology at Idorsia Pharmaceuticals Ltd in Basel, Switzerland.

Andrea Manca, MSc PhD—Director
Dr Manca is a professor of health economics at the Centre for Health Economics, University of York in York, England, UK.

Dong-Churl Suh, PhD—Director
Dr Suh is a professor and director, pharmaceutical economics and policy at the College of Pharmacy, Chung-Ang University in Seoul, South Korea.

Sean D. Sullivan, BScPharm, MSc, PhD—Treasurer
Dr Sullivan is professor and dean at the University of Washington, School of Pharmacy in Seattle, Washington, USA.

Rob Abbott—CEO and Executive Director
Mr Abbott is chief executive officer and executive director at ISPOR—The Professional Society for Health Economics and Outcomes Research in Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA.


ISPOR—The Professional Society for Health Economics and Outcomes Research (HEOR), is an international, multistakeholder, nonprofit dedicated to advancing HEOR excellence to improve decision making for health globally. The Society is the leading source for scientific conferences, peer-reviewed and MEDLINE®-indexed publications, good practices guidance, education, collaboration, and tools/resources in the field.
Website  | LinkedIn  | Twitter (@ispororg)  |  YouTube  |  Facebook  |  Instagram 

Related Stories

ISPOR Announces New Chief Science Officer

Aug 28, 2023

ISPOR announced that Laura Pizzi, PharmD, MPH will be assuming the role of Chief Science Officer at the Society. ISPOR’s previous Chief Science Officer, Richard J. Willke, PhD, will be retiring.

ISPOR Releases 2022 Annual Report

Apr 25, 2023

ISPOR announced that its 2022 annual report has been published. This year’s report highlights how the Society has successfully moved through and beyond the pandemic and returned to in-person events as it advances its mission to improve healthcare decisions.

ISPOR Announces New CEO

Mar 13, 2023

ISPOR announced that its Board of Directors has appointed Rob Abbott as the Society’s new CEO and executive director after an extensive search process. Mr Abbott is assuming the role of ISPOR’s CEO today, succeeding Nancy S. Berg who is retiring.
Your browser is out-of-date

ISPOR recommends that you update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on Update my browser now