ISPOR Announces 2020-2021 Board of Directors

Published Jun 15, 2020

Jens Grueger, PhD Moves Into the Role of President

ISPOR 2020-2021 Board of DirectorsLawrenceville, NJ, USA—June 15, 2020—ISPOR—The Professional Society for Health Economics and Outcomes Research announced the results of its recent elections and its 2020-2021 Board of Directors. The Society’s membership selected its new president-elect and directors with the 2020-2021 board assuming office on July 1, 2020.

Jens Grueger, PhD—President
Dr Grueger will assume the role of 2020-2021 president after serving as ISPOR’s president-elect over the past year. He is director and partner at Boston Consulting Group, Zurich, Switzerland.

Isao Kamae, MD, DrPH—President-Elect
Dr Kamae was elected president-elect and will move into the role of president during the 2021-2022 term. He is a project professor, Health Policy and Technology Assessment at the Graduate School of Public Policy, The University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan.

Nancy J. Devlin, PhD—Immediate Past President
Dr Devlin moves into the role of immediate past president. She is director, Centre for Health Policy at the University of Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia.

Sean D. Sullivan, PhD, MSc, RPhTreasurer
Dr Sullivan is assuming the role of Treasurer. He is professor and dean at the School of Pharmacy, University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA.

Newly elected board members include:

Kalipso Chalkidou, MD, PhD—Director
Dr Chalkidou is the director of global health policy and a senior fellow at the Centre for Global Development and a professor of practice in global health at the School of Public Health, Imperial College London, London, England, UK.

Eberechukwu Onukwugha, MS, PhD—Director
Dr Onukwugha is an associate professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Health Services and is the executive director of the Pharmaceutical Research Computing Center at the University of Maryland School of Pharmacy, Baltimore, MD, USA.

David Thompson, PhD—Director
Dr Thompson is senior vice president, real-world research, at Syneos Health, Boston, MA, USA.

Returning board members include:

Jalpa A. Doshi, PhD—Director
Dr Doshi is professor of medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA.

Neil Hawkins, MSc, MBA, PhD—Director
Dr Hawkins is professor of health technology assessment at the University of Glasgow, Glasgow, Scotland, UK.

Rok Hren, PhD, MSc—Director
Dr Hren is head of laboratory diagnostics, and molecular diagnostics in the Adriatic region, Siemens Healthineers, Ljubljana, Slovenia.

Raoh-Fang (Jasmine) Pwu, PhD—Director
Dr Pwu is director, National Hepatitis C Program Office, Ministry of Health and Welfare, Taipei, Taiwan.

Three outgoing directors will remain on the Board as advisors through 2020 to provide additional strategic advisement as the Society navigates the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic. Board advisors include:

  • Jan Elias Hansen, PhD; vice president, Evidence for Access Unit, US Medical Affairs, Genentech, South San Francisco, CA, USA
  • Meindert Boysen, PharmD; director, Technology Appraisal and Highly Specialized Technologies Programs, National Institute for Health and Care Excellence
  • Stephanie Earnshaw, PhD; senior vice president, health economics, RTI Health Solutions, Research Triangle Park, NC, USA



ISPOR, the professional society for health economics and outcomes research (HEOR), is an international, multistakeholder, nonprofit dedicated to advancing HEOR excellence to improve decision making for health globally. The Society is the leading source for scientific conferences, peer-reviewed and MEDLINE®-indexed publications, good practices guidance, education, collaboration, and tools/resources in the field.
Website  | LinkedIn  | Twitter (@ispororg)  |  YouTube  |  Facebook  |  Instagram

Related Stories

Mitch Higashi, PhD Joins ISPOR as Associate Chief Science Officer

Dec 11, 2023

ISPOR—The Professional Society for Health Economics and Outcomes Research announced that Mitch Higashi, PhD has joined the Society’s leadership team as Associate Chief Science Officer.

ISPOR Announces New Chief Science Officer

Aug 28, 2023

ISPOR announced that Laura Pizzi, PharmD, MPH will be assuming the role of Chief Science Officer at the Society. ISPOR’s previous Chief Science Officer, Richard J. Willke, PhD, will be retiring.

ISPOR Announces 2023-2024 Board of Directors

May 30, 2023

ISPOR—The Professional Society for Health Economics and Outcomes Research announced today the results of its recent elections. The Society’s membership selected its new president-elect and 3 new board members.
Your browser is out-of-date

ISPOR recommends that you update your browser for more security, speed and the best experience on Update my browser now