Rui Santos Ivo, PharmD
Rui Santos Ivo is currently President of INFARMED – National Authority of Medicines and Health Products, I.P. (since June 2019) and an invited Associate Professor of Medicines Regulation, at the University of Lisbon Faculty of Pharmacy since 2009. He is member of the Management Board of the European Medicines Agency (EMA) since March 2016, Vice-chair of the Valletta Permanent Technical Committee/Valletta Declaration, since July 2017, Chair of the Heads of HTA Agencies Group (HAG), since September 2021.

Along the years, at the Ministry of Health in Portugal, he held various functions, namely: Vice-president of INFARMED (2016/2019), President (2014/2016) and Vice-President (2011/2014) of the Central Administration of the Health System (ACSS, IP) and he served as President (2002-2005) and vice-president (1994-2000) of INFARMED.

In 2000-2002 he was Administrator at the Directorate of the EMA, in London, and in 2006-2008 in the European Commission, Pharmaceuticals Unit of the Directorate General for Enterprise and Industry, in Brussels. He was the first Chairman of the European Union Heads of Medicines Agencies Management Group (2004/2005) and, between the years 2008 and 2011, he was Executive Director of the Portuguese Association of the Pharmaceutical Industry (APIFARMA).

Rui Santos Ivo initiated his professional career as a hospital pharmacist at Lisbon Egas Moniz Hospital (today part of CHLO-Hospital Centre Lisbon West) and in 1993 he joined INFARMED, where he initiated functions at the Licensing and Inspectorate Department.

Rui Santos Ivo graduated in Pharmaceutical Sciences by the University of Lisbon in 1987. Specialist in Hospital Pharmacy by the Ministry of Health (1992) and the Pharmaceutical Society (2006) and in Pharmaceutical Regulation by the Portuguese Pharmaceutical Society (1997). Post graduate education on Health Law and Pharmaceutical Legislation (by the University of Lisbon Faculty of Law and National School of Public Health), Pharmaceutical Medicine (by the University of Basel), Regulation (by the London School of Economics and Political Science) and on Health Management (by the Portuguese Catholic University, in 2000, and by AESE Business School, in 2015).

He was granted with the Almofariz Prize - Personality of the Year in the Pharmaceutical Sector (2004), recognized, in France, as European Correspondent Member of the Académie de Pharmacie (2014) and, for distinguished Services, he was awarded with Gold Medal of the Ministry of Health (2015).