ISPOR 21st Annual International Meeting Awards Recipients

Stephen Priori, Director, ISPOR Publications

The ISPOR Awards Program is designed to foster and recognize excellence and outstanding technical achievement in pharmacoeconomics/health economics and outcomes research. In addition to scientific achievement, ISPOR also awards lifetime achievement and leadership awards to those who advance these disciplines in the field and by service to the Society.

At the ISPOR 21st Annual International Meeting, May 21-25, 2016, Washington Hilton, Washington, DC, USA, the ISPOR Scientific Achievement Awards, Research Presentation Awards, and ISPOR Distinguished Service Awards were announced. The ISPOR Awards Committee is chaired by Sean Sullivan, PhD, Stergachis Family Professor and Director, University of Washington, Pharmaceutical Outcomes Research and Policy Program, Seattle, WA, USA.

2016 ISPOR AVEDIS DONABEDIAN OUTCOMES RESEARCH LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT AWARD

ISPOR's most prestigious award, the ISPOR Avedis Donabedian Outcomes Research Lifetime Achievement Award was established in honor of the late Avedis Donabedian, MD, MPH. The Award recognizes an individual's outstanding, life-long achievement in the area of improving health outcomes.



Pennifer A. Erickson, PhD, Co-founder, OLGA, State College, PA, USA A special thanks to Mark J. Sculpher, MSc, PhD, and the Avedis Donabedian Outcomes Research Lifetime Achievement Award Committee.

2016 ISPOR MARILYN DIX SMITH LEADERSHIP AWARD

The ISPOR Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award was established in 2014 in honor of ISPOR's Founding Executive Director, Marilyn Dix Smith, RPh, PhD. The Award recognizes one individual each year that has provided extraordinary leadership to the Society.



J. Jaime Caro, MDCM, FRCPC, FACP, Chief Scientist, Evidera, Lexington, MA, USA and Adjunct Professor of Medicine, Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, McGill University, Montreal, QC, Canada

A special thanks to Scott D. Ramsey, MD, PhD, and the Marilyn Dix Smith Leadership Award Committee.

ISPOR AWARD FOR VALUE IN HEALTH PAPER OF THE YEAR

The ISPOR Award for *Value in Health* Paper of the Year was established in 2011 to promote quality research, originality, and utility in health care decisions for articles published in *Value in Health*. The award is given to the best paper published in *Value in Health* (hard copy) in the previous calendar year.



Ethan Basch, MD, MSc, Cancer Outcomes Research Program, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC, USA, for the paper, "Methods for Developing Patient-Reported Outcome-Based Performance Measures (PRO-PMs)", Value in Health 2015;18:493-504.

See page 44 of this issue for a commentary on the ViH Award selection process and finalists.

2016 VALUE IN HEALTH REGIONAL ISSUES EXCELLENCE ARTICLE AWARD

The Value in Health Regional Issues (ViHRI) Excellent Article Award was established in 2014 to recognize the best article published in ViHRI from a region, (Asia, Latin America and Central & Eastern Europe, Western Asia & Africa (CEEWAA)). The objective of this award is to promote quality research, originality, and utility in health care decisions for articles published in ViHRI.



Mônica Viegas Andrade, PhD, Associate Professor, Universidad Federal de Minas Gerais, Belo Horizonte, Brazil & Harvard School of Public Health, Boston, MA, USA, for the paper, "Societal Preferences for EQ-5D Health States from a Brazilian Population Survey", Value in Health Regional Issues 2013;2:405-412.

See page 44 of this issue for a commentary on the ViH Award selection process and finalists.

2016 ISPOR RESEARCH EXCELLENCE AWARDS

The recipients of the 2016 ISPOR Research Excellence Awards (one for Methodology Excellence and one for application Excellence) are selected by the Awards Committee based on manuscripts that were published in respected peer-review journals and other communication venues (e.g., books, reports) between January 1, 2015 and December 31, 2015. Manuscripts that include a clear description of methods, along with the appropriate and creative applications (or proposal thereof in conceptual methodology work) of techniques to answer important questions in the field of pharmacoeconomics and outcomes research, are eligible for nomination. Such published manuscripts should have much impact on the field due to their acceptance and application by others.

The 2016 recipient of the ISPOR Award for Excellence in Methodology in Pharmacoeconomics and Health Outcomes Research is:



Anirban Basu, PhD, Department of Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Outcomes Research and Policy Program, Departments of Health Services and Economics, University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA, for the paper, "A Framework for Prioritizing Research Investments in Precision Medicine", Med Decis Making 2015 Oct 26. pii: 0272989X15610780.

The 2016 recipient of the ISPOR Award for Excellence in Application of Pharmacoeconomics and Health Outcomes Research is:



Joshua J. Gagne, PharmD, ScD, Division of Pharmacoepidemiology and Pharmacoeconomics, Department of Medicine, Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA, USA, for the paper, "Prospective Benefit-Risk Monitoring of New Drugs for Rapid Assessment of Net Favorability in Electronic Health Care Data", Value Health 2015;18:1063-1069.

A special thanks to Federico Augustovski, MD, MSc, PhD, Chair, ISPOR Research Excellence Award in Methodological Excellence and Dan Greenberg, PhD, Chair, ISPOR Research Excellence Award in Practical Application Excellence, and their Committee.

2016 ISPOR BERNIE J. O'BRIEN NEW INVESTIGATOR AWARD

The ISPOR Bernie J. O'Brien New Investigator Award was established in 2004 to honor the long-standing commitment of Bernie J. O'Brien, PhD to training and mentoring new scientists in the fields of outcomes research and pharmacoeconomics. The recipient must be an ISPOR member with evidence of exceptional promise as assessed by evaluating the nominee's emerging body of technical and scholarly work in the fields of pharmacoeconomics and outcomes research.

2016 ISPOR BERNIE J. O'BRIEN NEW INVESTIGATOR AWARDEE



Anthony Newall, PhD, Senior Lecturer, UNSW Australia, School of Public Health and Community Medicine, The University of New South Wales, Sydney, Australia

A special thanks to Jalpa Doshi, PhD, and the Bernie O'Brien New Investigator Award Committee.

Additional information:

For complete ISPOR Board of Directors and Distinguished Service Awards presented at the ISPOR 21st Annual International Meeting, see: http://www.ispor.org/awards/service/index.asp

To view the ISPOR 21st Annual International Meeting Podium and Poster Research Presentation Award recipients and presentations, go to: http://www.ispor.org/awards/21meet.asp

