Brett Hauber, PhD
Senior Economist and RTI Senior Fellow, RTI Health Solutions
Research Triangle Park, NC, USA
Brett Hauber, PhD, is a Senior Economist and the Vice President of Health Preference Assessment at RTI-HS and an Affiliate Associate Professor in the School of Pharmacy at the University of Washington. He has more than 20 years of academic, research, and government experience in health and environmental economics. He was the principal investigator for developing the Catalog of Methods for Assessing Patient Preferences for Benefits and Harms of Medical Technologies for the Medical Device Innovation Consortium (MDIC). He is currently Co-Chair for Benefit-Risk Assessment in the Benefit-Risk Assessment, Communication, and Evaluation (BRACE) Special Interest Group (SIG) of the International Society for Pharmacoepidemiology (ISPE). He previously served as chair of the Conjoint Analysis Good Research Practices Task Force of the International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research (ISPOR) that developed the report on Good Research Practices in Statistical Methods for the Analysis of Discrete-Choice Experiments and was a member of the ISPOR task force that developed the ISPOR Checklist for Good Research Practices in Conjoint Analysis. Dr. Hauber is currently the Principal Investigator for the What Matters Most Study sponsored by AD PACE, a patient- and caregiver-led collaboration of industry, academics, and government agencies. He was recently the lead investigator an MDIC-sponsored study to elicit patient preferences for benefits and risks of medical devices to treatment Parkinson’s disease. The Parkinson’s preference study was the result of a collaborative effort by MDIC, the Center for Devices and Radiological Health of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), The Michael J Fox Foundation for Parkinson’s Research, and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology to develop a patient-centered design for clinical trials of devices to treat Parkinson’s disease. Dr. Hauber is currently a member of the Scientific Advisory Board for IMI-PREFER. His research has been published in numerous health outcomes and medical journals.