Join ISPOR  | Sign up for mailing List  | Follow Us: LinkedIn Twitter Facebook YouTube

ISPOR Award for Value in Health Paper of the Year

Description: The ISPOR Award for Value in Health Paper of the Year was established in 2011 to promote quality research, originality, and utility in health care decisions for articles published in Value in Health.

Criteria: The award is given to the best paper published in Value in Health (hard copy) in the previous calendar year. The paper should represent a major contribution to the field of pharmacoeconomics and outcomes research [including clinical, economic, and patient-reported (health related quality of life) outcomes] or its use in health care decision-making including original research, development of new methods, health policy analysis, and reviews. Papers such as editorials, decision-maker commentaries, letters, point/counter-points, and scientific reports are excluded for consideration for this award.

Selection Process: The award is selected by the Value in Health Editorial Board. Papers considered shall be from the preceding 12 months prior to the award year. Each of the Value in Health Co-Editors will nominate the best paper from those for which they have acted as Co-Editor. The Co-Editors and Co-Editors-in-Chief will then select the best paper from this shortlist. The nominee is then forwarded to the ISPOR Board of Directors for approval.  If the paper selected has also been selected as a recipient of an ISPOR Research Excellence Award, and if the Awards Committee feels that this should be avoided, the Value in Health Co-Editors-in-Chief can be instructed to consult the Chairs of the ISPOR Research Excellence Awards Committee before confirming of the selection. The corresponding author on the best paper of the year is given the award. 

Nature of Award: The Award is presented at the ISPOR Annual International Meeting by the Co-Editors-in-Chief to the corresponding author of the paper. The award consists of a plaque, complimentary Annual International Meeting registration, roundtrip air fare (coach), hotel, meal and other travel expenses for two days, based upon current ISPOR Travel Reimbursement Policies. A recipient may choose to receive the award at the ISPOR Annual European Congress if he or she is not able to attend the ISPOR Annual International Meeting.
Timeline & Procedures: Following is the selection process timeline:

December:   Final issue of Value in Health published prior to year awarded.

An email message is sent to all Value in Health Co-Editors requesting a shortlist of papers, for which they were assigned as Co-Editors, for consideration of the award.

The Co-Editors and Co-Editors-in-Chief meet via either teleconference and/or email vote to discuss, evaluate nominations, and determine the recipient. Subsequent teleconferences and/or email votes may be held if necessary.


The nominee is forwarded to the ISPOR Board of Directors for approval.

The Co-Editors-in-Chief inform the recipient. A letter from ISPOR President is sent to the recipient informing them of their selection and inviting them to attend the Annual International Meeting or European Congress to receive the award.

ISPOR Award for Value in Health Paper of the Year Recipients

James D. Chambers, MPharm, MSc, PhD
Assistant Professor, Center for the Evaluation of Value and Risk in Health (CEVR), Institute for Clinical Research and Health Policy Studies at Tufts Medical Center, Boston, MA, USA
Illustrating Potential Efficiency Gains from Using Cost-Effectiveness Evidence to Reallocate Medicare Expenditures

James D. Chambers, MPharm, MSc, PhDJames Chambers is an Assistant Professor in the Center for the Evaluation of Value and Risk in Health (CEVR), in the Institute for Clinical Research and Health Policy Studies at Tufts Medical Center.  He leads and works on projects associated with achieving value for money from the use of medical technology in the US health care system.  James also helps maintain the Tufts Medical Center Medicare National Coverage Decisions (NCD) database.  James graduated from Queens University in Belfast with an MPharm degree and previously worked as a pharmacist in the UK and Ireland.  He also obtained an MSc from the University of York and PhD from the Health Economics Research Group (HERG) at Brunel University, both in Health Economics.  James' research interests include what factors influence coverage and reimbursement policy for medical technology, the use, and potential value, of cost-effectiveness in the U.S. health care system, and innovation.

Anna Teytelman, PhD Nicola J. Cooper, PhD Anthony. E. Ades, PhD
Anna Teytelman, PhD Nicola J. Cooper, PhD Anthony. E. Ades, PhD

Anna Teytelman, PhD

Anna Teytelman, PhD
Software Engineer, Google, Inc., New York, NY, USA

Modeling the Effects of H1N1 Influenza Vaccine Distribution in the United States

Anna Teytelman received her PhD from MIT's Operation Research Center in June of 2012. Her research focuses on mitigating pandemic influenza spread, in particular using evidence from previous outbreaks to inform dynamic decision-making during future pandemic events. Research topics include dynamic vaccine allocation algorithms and techniques for evaluating non-pharmaceutical intervention effectiveness. She is currently working at Google in New York as a software engineer.

Joanne LaFleur, PharmD, MSPH

Nicola J. Cooper, PhD
Department of Health Sciences, University of Leicester, Leicester, UK

How Valuable are Multiple Treatment Comparison Methods in Evidence-Based Health Care Evaluation?

Nicola J. Cooper, PhD, is a Professor of Healthcare Evaluation Research at the University of Leicester, UK. Her research experience spans a range of academic disciplines including health economics, health services research and medical statistics, and most excitingly, the interface and integration of all three. Nicola joined the Biostatistics group at Leicester in 2000 and since then, her research has focused on the development and application of methods for evidence synthesis and economic decision modelling to inform health technology appraisals. This research has led to collaborations with renowned experts in the area both nationally and internationally, leading to numerous research grants and the development of specialist courses delivered worldwide. The paper, on which the 2012 ISPOR Award for Value in Health Paper of the Year was awarded, was funded by an MRC methodology grant and is an example of the collaborative research Nicola is currently undertaking.

Joanne LaFleur, PharmD, MSPH

Anthony. E. Ades, PhD
Professor of Public Health Science, University of Bristol, UK

Network Meta-Analysis with Competing Risk Outcomes

Tony’s background was in psychology and linguistics. He turned to biostatistics in 1980, and worked on infectious disease in the mother, fetus and newborn.  He developed an interest in evidence synthesis while working with Andy Briggs and Mark Sculpher on cost-effectiveness of prenatal HIV testing. He noticed that most of the available evidence was on complex functions of the model parameters, but not the parameters themselves. He determined to use Bayesian Markov chain Monte Carlo methods to estimate the model, and soon discovered that the idea of multi-parameter synthesis had already been developed in David Eddy’s Confidence Profile Method. Since 2002 Tony has led a programme of work on methods for evidence synthesis in epidemiology and decision making, working with Guobing Lu, Nicky Welton, Debbi Caldwell, Malcolm Price, Aicha Goubar, and Sofia Dias. The nominated paper on competing risks has been part of the group’s work on network meta-analysis.

Return to Value in Health Main Page

Contact ISPOR @  |  View Legal Disclaimer
©2015 International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research. All rights reserved under International and Pan-American Copyright Conventions. 
Website design by Eagle Systems USA, Inc.